wvma allstate2021 banner

WVMAConn 2023 1040x150 2

WVMA ChampionsPic 2020From left, WVMA President Rebecca McPhail and Jeff Fritz of Chemours present Delegate Moore Capito, R-Kanawha, with the 2020 WVMA Legislative Champion award.CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Manufacturers Association honored legislators and industry professionals Nov. 17 with its Champions of Industry awards.

“Each year, we honor those who recognize the importance of manufacturing to West Virginia’s economy,” WVMA President Rebecca McPhail said. “This year is especially challenging for business and industry, but manufacturers innovate, adapt and respond to the needs of our communities during challenging times. Fostering a policy environment that keeps us on a level playing field is more important than ever in the Mountain State, and we are grateful for the leadership and commitment of those we honored tonight.”

The awards were distributed Monday evening during the WVMA’s annual Legislative All-State Dinner and Meeting, held at the Charleston Coliseum and Conference Center. Lawmakers and manufacturing industry leaders discussed the upcoming 2021 legislative session and took a deeper dive into the WVMA’s research efforts on regulatory issues.

In addition to recognizing a Legislative champion, the Association honored two industry leaders.

“We like to recognize WVMA members who take a special interest in the legislative process and offer their personal experiences to lawmakers to put a face on the policies we support,” McPhail said. 

The 2020 Champions of Industry Award winners are:

  • Legislative Champion: Delegate Moore Capito, R-Kanawha
  • WVMA Member Champion: Fred Clark, IVS Hydro
  • WVMA Member Champion: Jeff Fritz, Chemours

For additional information, call the WVMA at (304) 342-2123.